The day he grew

IMG_20151231_100448We both built your scooter of white and of red,

Then laughed as you span all three wheels;

In a helmet I carefully nestled your head,

I smiled at your chuckles and squeals.

 

You stepped to the plate, and said ‘can you help’,

With wide eyes so brimful of fear,

I lovingly thought you’re still just a whelp;

Then carefully taught you to steer.

 

Though whelp you are not for you learned what to do,

Within minutes you travelled afar;

Before my anxious eyes you visibly grew,

Then I pictured you driving a car.

 

My heart pounded with pride and with fear. 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

