Connor

mw-super-skeleton-14a5bf4b4ce

 

 

For three years I taught a remarkable class. It really was remarkable, because it was full of remarkable individuals. I remember all of the gentlemen that made it a whole. I remember moments and phrases, as teachers do. I find myself today feeling incredibly saddened that one of those gentlemen has passed away. I feel hopeless, and unable to do anything about it. There is something, though. I can write about him, and try to honour his memory. So I shall. The remarkable gentleman is Connor.

I remember a lot of things about Connor, but one thing shines out and shapes them all. He was selfless and kind, and appreciated life. I saw this in both his actions and his writing, because I taught him English. He was intuitive and sensible in both his deeds and with a pen. In class, he always looked deep in thought.You could see and feel the cogs turning. Fast, and intricately. None was this more apparent when he gave an opening speech in a class debate. Connor volunteered to open the debate, and he did so with wit, eloquence and a charisma that was well beyond his years. It was a brilliant speech, and carefully created.

I also remember seeing him with his friends, of which there were many. He was a fellow who could move seamlessly between the school cliques, and he always seemed to be with different people. Who were happy in his company. I remember his quiet confidence, and how he appreciated things, be they a word well said, or a well-slung joke across the classroom. I particularly remember him treating people and things well. He had a marvellous skeleton watch they he would polish with his sleeve. It obviously meant a great deal to him. He obviously meant a very great deal to others. He was remarkable.

I know that there will be a  great deal written about him in the following days, as there should be. A great deal off those words though will be dates and times and facts. I hope that anybody who reads this that knew him will appreciate these memories. Though I hope that this might be read by people who did not know him, and who did not have the chance to meet him. He enriched my life at school a great deal, and I am so very sad that he is no longer with us.  Students often say that they remember their teachers, but teachers remember their students, also. I will remember Connor as a good man, a kind friend, and a person who was genuinely a pleasure to spend time with.

© Tom Tide 2016

 

4 thoughts on “Connor

  1. Thank you so much for this piece of writing that completely and utterly sums up my brother! I knew he was loved by many, and his company was always cherished by myself, family and many, many friends! I will miss him dearly each and every day and my angel of a brother will be looking down and smiling at all that I do and achieve! Sometimes in life people are taken in what seems too soon. But in this instance I believe that he was needed for a bigger purpose, something greater that will one day become apparent!! Your thoughts and memories will stay with me forever! Thank you xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are very, very welcome Casey. He was such a lovely chap. I feel honoured to have known and taught him. He will always be with you, as you say, looking down and loving. I hope that my words have brought you and your family a little comfort, and that things are going as well as they can do at this time. I am thinking of you x

      Like

  2. I taught Connor when he first started school. I was his first teacher and I’m so ,so,saddened by the news. My memories of him will always be frozen in that time when he was young remembering his five year old face that was so expressive and his eagerness to walk into class in his brand new uniform x God bless you Connor MRS B X

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

