Ode retold

Car tail-lights are red,

Folks language is blue;

I wait at the Bus stop
with thoughts just of you.

With my hands blue with cold
I see others see red;
rain makes most folks just
long for their bed.

Not I (well, not yet),

For I savour your eyes,

Your words and your thoughts,

and yes, even your sighs.

 

So I’ll drag out the seconds when I get back to you,

Make the most of all moments, be they red or blue.

 

© Tom Tide 2016

One thought on “Ode retold

  1. Poetry composition while waiting for a bus in the rain – that’s a first. I hope it won’t be the last. This manages to combine the routine with the beauty of love and longing. Not sure how you do it, but you are a true poet who sees such things in the everyday.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

