Mike Oldfield

Yesterday, a man I truly respect wished me a Happy Birthday. I received a text message from Mike Oldfield. To me, this is momentous. I have listened, with Joy, to his music since I was Twelve. It is no exaggeration to say that I call to mind his music every single day, and whenever I walk somewhere I immediately recall a tune or song of his. Unlike all of the other music that  appreciate, I can listen to Mr Oldfield in any mood, at any time. It is both fascinating and therapeutic to me, and in moments of my greatest anxiety or sadness he has buoyed me up. Given me a focus.

I could not reply to the message that he sent me yesterday, which I believe was sent by a wonderful society that I joined. So this is a message for him, and I dearly hope that he may see this over the coming days and weeks. I want to say thank you. Thank you for my message. Thank you for the immense impact that you have always had on me. Thank you, and Merry Christmas to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

