Oh Dear Me

I look at me three decades ago. Or you, rather.

I’m unrecognisable now. Every cell thrice renewed.

I wish I could take your head between my hands,

Look in to your eyes and say ‘Your mind is wired strangely.

Talk to people about it, in all its frenzied energy’.

I would say ‘Swim every day. You will seek such solace in water.’

My eyes crease in to a smile now: in this portrait you are

already lovingly clad in Ocean hues.

I would say ‘Those eyes will open

more doors for you than any qualifications.’

Smiling, I would tell you to do what you will imagine those lips doing.

Say what you picture them saying,

in your wild mind’s eye.

To use what your ears gather wisely.

Put Heart over Head.    That matters.

Looking at you again, I see the storm behind those eyes.

As if you already sense what is coming,

both joy and sorrow. One thing more:

Listen to Leonard Cohen well before you understand him.

Life will be all the sweeter when you do.

img_20161230_173218_hdr

 

© Tom Tide 2016

2 thoughts on “Oh Dear Me

Leave a Reply

