Materfamilias

 

There are no words to thank you for your love,

None can suffice: they would be infinite.

For all you teach me, I thank stars above:

Until the dawn absorbs their gentle light.

 

Yet I shall give you words that you taught me,

The precious gift of words, which I adore:

For in your goodness you taught me to see:

To look beyond rough seas and search for shore.

 

I thank you with each movement of my heart,

I cherish you in every breath I take;

Though there are times that we must be apart,

My fierce, gentle love shall never break.

 

Always you are with me, and I with you:

I thank God for all the goodness that you do.

 

 

Copyright Tom Tide 2017

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

