When the bough breaks- to the tune of ‘Rockabye Baby’

For my son’s Guardian Angel

 

Make a rope swing, I thought, for my son:

Fill sunny days with pendular fun,

Thank God and all angels I tested the bough:

To see if rough usage its strength would allow.

 

For down the bough came, my shoulders were struck:

Although my blood flowed, I hold it great luck

That this Viking prow, all rotten and dead,

Struck knarled old me, and not my boy’s head. 

 

So now I do thank whoe’re watched from above,

Protected my son with the grace of a dove:

Placed him well away, from gravity’s might,

Then gave to me caution, lifegiving foresight.

 

Copyright Tom Tide 2017

 

Leave a Reply

