Streets of Lansdown

With the headlines full of greed and the growing gulf between wealthy and impoverished, this parody feels even more relevant today than when I first penned it.

Tom Tide thinking

Have you seen the landlord,

Who owns a third of Lansdown,

Sucking up the rent

To fund his year-long cruise?

In his eyes you see pound signs,

Glinting at the arrears fines,

Interest just soaring,

Oh how could he lose?

So how can you tell me that my nation’s broke?

And say we live in recession times?

Well let me drag you by the hand,

And lead you through the streets of Lansdown,

I’ll show you something to make you change your mind.

Have you seen the banker,

Who seldom sees his children?

Tending to his hedgefunds

On behalf of the Swiss?

He’s hired a live-in Nanny,

And he pays her for her fanny,

Two grand by the hour,

With a bonus for a kiss.

So how can you tell me that my nation’s broke?

And say we live in recession times?

Well let me drag you by the hand,

View original post 193 more words

Leave a Reply

